Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us



Passenger & Freight services

News & Recruitment Info


Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page

Introduction of Firozpur Division.


History of Firozpur Division is almost as old as that of the Indian Railways. The first Railway line of the area, from Amritsar to Attari, was opened in April 1862. The Division with a route km of 1844.649 including 163.99 km of Narrow Gauge and 268 stations (including 15 stations in Kashmir Valley) caters to rail transportation needs of Punjab, J&K and a part of Himachal Pradesh.


The division serves many industrial and important towns like Ludhiana, Amritsar, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Firozpur, Pathankot, Beas, Phagwara, Attari & Kapurthala in Punjab; Kangra, Palampur, Baijnath Paprola & Joginder Nagar in Himachal Pradesh and Kathua, Jammu Tawi & Udhampur in J&K. JammuTawi serves as Gateway to large number of tourists and pilgrims visiting scenic Kashmir valley and holy Shrine of Shri Mata Vaishnodevi, Shri Amarnath ji, Hazratbal, Charar-e-Sharief & Shahdara Sharief.

The Division is the largest food-grain loading Division on Indian Railway. Nearly 748 (eight-wheeler) wagons of food-grain, containers, tractor, potato etc. are loaded every day in the Division. The inward traffic consists mainly of iron, steel, fertilizer, coal, cement, and petroleum product. Inland Container Depots are located at Dhandari Kalan, Sahnewal and Phillaur for loading Containers. At Sahnewal, Containers are handled by M/s GFRL and M/S Innovative B2B Logistics Solution Ltd. Nestle is also loading containers in Moga. Apart from this, containers are dealt at Batala and Suranussi stations.





2.0Structure of Operating Department.


The Operating Branch is headed by Sr.DOM assisted by Sr.DOM/PM&G, DOM/M and AOM/Chg.In addition, there are four area officers i.e., Sr.DTM/JAT, AM/SINA, DOM/ASR and CAM/LDH. There are sixteen Traffic Inspectors looking after the whole Division in their respective sections. One CHC/Plg. assisted by TI/Plg and one TI/MPP is posted at Firozpur to assist in planning and other operational works, TI/SWR is posted at FZR to look into and update Station Working Rules & one TI/FOIS is also posted in CNL office to co-ordinate FOIS & COIS working. One TI/G (Safety) is posted to assist in safety related matters.


This Division has got a centralized Control Office at Firozpur. It has four control boards controlling the whole Division under the direct supervision of the Chief Controller and one additional Control office is also working at Budgam to control train operation in Kashmir Valley. Control Office Application has been implemented since 07.09.09.


There are 268 stations in the division. Out of these 155 are block stations, 06 DK sidings, 55 Halts and 39 Flag stations including 15 block stations in Kashmir valley have been introduced on 11.10.08.


Division has 18 branch lines including one branch line in Kashmir valley, the highest on any Division in Northern Railway. There are 60 block rake-handling points and full rake handling capacity exists at 59 stations. Loading is being done at 51 terminals.

Total no. of 436 passenger carrying trains including 228 Mail/Express trains and 12 NG trains are being run on the Division in addition to large number of Holiday specials and Military specials.


DMUs are running on FZR-JUC, FZR-LDH, JUC-HSX, LDH-JUC-ASR, JUC-NRO, ASR-PTK, JUC-PTK, ASR-DBNK, ASR-ATT, ASR-KEMK, ASR-QDN, FZR-FKA, LDH-LNK, FKA-BTI, JUC-NSS-RHU-JJJ and Kashmir Valley sections. The first DMU service was introduced in this Division on 23.10.94 on the JUC-HSX section.


The Division has six interchange points, five with UMB Division and 6th at International Border with Pakistan Railway at Attari. The interchange with UMB Division is being done at Sahnewal (Doraha and Chandigarh side), Gill, and Bathinda and Abohar points.

The Division is dealing with goods traffic both outward and inward.


Outward Traffic

Food grains, Container, Potato, Processed Foods, Tractors, Gypsum, Paper etc.

Export traffic from ASR area - Rubber, D.O.C, Red Chilly, Chemical, Seed, Yarn, Spices etc.


Inward Traffic

Container, Iron, Steel, Fertilizer, Coal, Cement, POL, Gunny Bails, Hays, Sugar, and Food grains etc.

Import from Pakistan- Dry Dates, Rock Salt, Cement, Onion , Sugar etc. (Temporarily suspended)

There are three Container Depots at Dhandari Kalan, Sahnewal and Phillaur for loading Containers. Nestle is also loading containers from Moga. Apart from this, containers are dealt with Batala and Suranussi stations.